Québec Solidaire Verdun

In a Verdun convenience store customer and cashier exchange a few words. In response to a customer complaint about the cost of bread, the cashier suddenly responds : « it’s simple, everything goes up except our salaries! ». Witnessing this scene, B.-P., a AS militant (Alternative Socialiste) and member of Québec solidaire, likes to believe that this is a repercussion of the display campaign by the group in favor the minimum wage of $15. Indeed, among the thousands of posters plastered in the Southwest and Verdun by the organization, one was bonded, clearly visible near the convenience store. For J.D., also a member of AS, one aim of the campaign is precisely to have an echo in the minds of the population using simple and clear claims based on the daily experience of the precariousness and needs of people. This display initiative is the first step in a local campaign that until now made significant gains in several US cities and, in less than a year, is spreading in Canada.

A claim brought by wage earners

On November 26, 2012, a release day has mobilized hundreds of non-union members workers in sixty fast food branches of New York. These precarious workers, often paid minimum wages, liable to discontinuous schedules and infernal work rates, are demanding wage increases and better working conditions. In United States, minimum wage has stagnated at $7.25 at the federal level. States and municipalities may however provide higher salary on their territory. Nonetheless, they are largely insufficient to cover current expenditures. This historic strike will « oil stain » and be followed by similar demonstrations in over 200 cities, 35 countries and 6 continents. This experience will be the spark plug of the campaign « Fight for $15 », whose main claim is precisely the establishment of a minimum wage of $ 5.

Seattle victory strategy of « onto the ballot – into the streets. »

It’s in Seattle that the first victory of the campaign « Fight for $15 » took shape in 2014. The municipal election of 2013 has been one of the key stages of a strategy called « onto the ballot – into the streets ». Kshama Sawant, organizer of the Occupy movement and a member of the local branch of the SA group was then elected city councilor. Singular figure of the American political landscape, Ms. Sawant defended throughout her campaign uninhibited socialism articulated around some key demands: the adoption of a minimum wage of $15, control of rents, social housing construction and lowering the cost of public transport. The growing popular echo of this particular strategy has forced Democrat opponents to position themselves for the minimum wage of $15. Once elected, Kshama Sawant has skillfully used her position to continue promoting this claim while pursuing, in parallel, the popular mobilizations. A few months after the election, the City Hall, acquired largely by Democrats, has finally established the Income Inequality Advisory Committee (IIAC), a committee of elected representatives and representatives of private enterprise responsible for proposing a minimum wage increase plan.

Throughout the deliberations of the committee, Kshama Sawant has actively denounced the attempts by the right to neutralize the economic effects of the minimum wage. Also, with the aim to keep the pressure on the committee and elected officials, members of AS organized the campaign 15Now!. District councils were also established to entrench local mobilization. It’s finally in June 2, 2014 that was passed unanimously, by the elected representatives, a gradual increase of the minimum wage plan which, after a period of 5 years, to be generalized in all businesses at $15, the highest in the United States. Since then, other cities including Los Angeles and New York have followed suit or are considering doing so.

Recently, the British Columbia Federation of Labor (BCFL), the main trade union center of the province, has adopted the campaign « Fight For $15 » following representations of the members of « Young Workers », the young collective of the federation. To this end, a website was set up, a petition circulating through the population and the 15th day of each month, an activity organized to promote this claim. The New Democratic Party, both federally and in some provinces, has come out in favor of the wage to $15. This is also a theme which was promoted by the party during the election campaign after which he got the majority of seats in the Alberta legislature in 2015.

Meanwhile in Quebec…

AS postering initiative, visible on Verdun street furniture, is a first step in the campaign for a minimum wage of $15 in Quebec. B.-P. & J.D. immediately recognize that they act as initiators with, for now, relatively modest means. According to them, the next step of the campaign rests on its adoption by the social movements, primarily the trade unions. For their part, members of Québec solidaire should feel challenged by this initiative. It is, to date, the only party to propose a substantial increase in the minimum wage. The program provides for setting, initially, the minimum wage at the poverty line and then to raise to 50% above that level. It’s clear that contrary to the claim for a wage of $15, this formulation is still inconvenient to constitute clear and simple political slogans. Nevertheless, this position makes Québec solidaire a privileged actor to lead such a campaign.

Note that several Quebec organizations bear the claim in favor of a significant increase in the minimum wage, mainly Au bas de l’échelle

Québec Solidaire Verdun

Dans un dépanneur de Verdun, client et caissier échangent quelques paroles. En réponse à la plainte d’un client au sujet du coût du pain, le caissier laisse soudainement tomber « c’est simple, tout augmente sauf nos salaires! ». Témoin de cette scène, B-P, militant d’Alternative socialiste (ci-après AS) et membre de Québec solidaire, aime à croire qu’il s’agit là d’une répercussion de la campagne d’affichage menée par le groupe en faveur du salaire minimum de 15$. En effet, parmi les milliersd’affiches placardées dans le Sud-Ouest et Verdun par le collectif, l’une d’elle a été collée, bien visible, à proximité du dépanneur. Pour J.D., également membre d’AS, l’un des but de la campagne est justement d’avoir un écho dans l’esprit de la population en utilisant des revendications simples et claires fondées sur l’expérience quotidienne de la précarité et les besoins des gens. Cette initiative d’affichage est la première étape locale d’une campagne qui a permis jusqu’à maintenant de remporter des gains significatifs dans plusieurs villes américaines et qui, depuis moins d’un ans, se propage au Canada.

Une revendication portée par les salarié-es

Le 26 novembre 2012, une journée de débrayage a mobilisé des centaines de travailleuses et travailleurs non syndiqué-es d’une soixantaine de succursales de restauration rapide de New-York. Ces travailleuses et travailleurs précaires, souvent payé-es le salaire minimum, assujetti-es à des horaires discontinus et des cadences de travail infernales, réclament des augmentations de salaire et de meilleures conditions de travail. Aux États-Unis, le salaire minimum stagne à 7,25$ au niveau fédéral. Les États et municipalités peuvent toutefois prévoir sur leur territoire un salaire supérieur. Néanmoins, ceux-ci sont largement insuffisants pour couvrir les dépenses courantes.  Cette grève historique fera « tâche d’huile » et sera suivie de mobilisations similaires dans plus de 200 villes, 35 pays et 6 continents. Cette expérience sera la bougie d’allumage de la campagne « Fight for 15$ », dont la revendication principale est précisément l’établissement d’un salaire minimum de 15$.

Seattle, victoire de la stratégie « des urnes et de la rue »

C’est d’abord à Seattle que la première victoire de la campagne « Fight for 15$ » s’est concrétisée en 2014. L’élection municipale de 2013 a été l’une des étapes charnières d’une stratégie dite des urnes et de la rue. Kshama Sawant, organisatrice du mouvement Occupy et membre de la branche locale du groupe AS, a alors été élue au poste de conseillère de ville. Figure singulière du paysage politique américain, madame Sawant a défendu tout au long de sa campagne un socialisme décomplexé articulé autour de quelques revendications clées : l’adoption d’un salaire minimum de 15$, le contrôle du prix des loyers, la construction de logement sociaux et la baisse du coût des transports collectifs. L’écho populaire croissant de cette stratégie a notamment forcé ses opposant-es démocrates à se positionner en faveur d’un salaire minimum de 15$. Une fois élue, Kshama Sawant a habilement utilisé son poste afin de poursuivre la promotion de cette revendication pendant que se poursuivait, en parallèle, les mobilisations populaires. Quelques mois après l’élection, la mairie, largement acquise au parti démocrate, a finalement mis sur pied le « Income Inequality Advisory Committee (IIAC) », un comité composé d’élu-es et de représentant-es de l’entreprise privée chargé de proposer un plan de hausse du salaire minimum.

Tout au long des délibérations du comité, Kshama Sawant a dénoncé activement les tentatives menées par la droite afin de neutraliser les effets économiques du salaire minimum. Également, dans l’objectif de maintenir la pression sur le comité et les élu-es, les membres d’AS ont organisé la campagne « 15$ Now! ». Des conseils de quartier ont aussi été mis sur pied afin d’enraciner localement la mobilisation. C’est finalement le 2 juin 2014 qu’a été adoptée à l’unanimité par les élu-es un plan de hausse progressive du salaire minimum qui, au terme d’une période de 5 ans, verra se généraliser dans l’ensemble des entreprises le salaire minimum de 15$ soit, le plus haut des États-Unis. Depuis, d’autres villes dont Los Angeles et New York ont emboîté le pas ou envisagent de le faire.

Récemment, la British Columbia Federation of Labor, principale centrale syndicale de la province, a adopté la campagne « Fight For 15$ » suite aux représentations des membres de “Young Workers”, le collectif jeune de la fédération. À cette fin, un site internet  a été mis sur pied, une pétition circule à travers la population et le 15e jour de chaque mois, une activité est organisée afin de promouvoir cette revendication. Le Nouveau Parti Démocratique, tant au niveau fédéral que dans certaines provinces, a pris position en faveur du salaire à 15$. C’est d’ailleurs l’un des thèmes qui fut promu par ce parti lors de la campagne électorale  au terme de laquelle il a obtenu la majorité des sièges de la législature albertaine en 2015.

Pendant ce temps au Québec…

L’initiative d’affichage d’AS, visible sur le mobilier urbain du territoire de Verdun, est une première étape de la campagne en faveur d’un salaire minimum de 15$ au Québec. B.-P. et J.D. reconnaissent d’emblée qu’ils agissent en tant qu’initiateurs, avec, pour l’instant, des moyens relativement modestes. Selon eux, la prochaine étape de la campagne repose sur son adoption par les mouvements sociaux, au premier chef les organisations syndicales. Pour leur part, les membres de Québec solidaire doivent se sentir interpellés par cette initiative. Il est, à ce jour, le seul parti à proposer une hausse substantielle du salaire minimum. Le programme prévoit en effet de fixer, dans un premier temps, le salaire minimum au niveau du seuil de pauvreté et, ensuite, de le hausser 50% au dessus de ce niveau. Force est de constater que contrairement à la revendication d’un salaire de 15$, cette formulation demeure peu commode pour constituer des slogans politiques simples et clairs. Néanmoins, cette position fait de Québec solidaire un acteur privilégié pour mener une telle campagne.

Notons que plusieurs organisations québécoises portent la revendication en faveur d’une hausse significative du salaire minimum dont l’organisme Au bas de l’échelle.